BQF- Baby Hexies

Welcome to my second entry for the Blogger’s Quilt Festival.  This quilt is in the baby quilts category.  You can check out my hand quilting entry here.
HS Hexagon

The couple this quilt is for asked for hexagons and I was a bit concerned.  I knew I didn’t have time to hand piece.  And it was for a boy, so I knew I wanted something other than the common flower garden lay out.  When I saw this pattern, I was sold.  Well, mostly sold, I did make a few adjustments. I didn’t want my hexagons to get cut off, so I nearly doubled the background triangles to extend the white to the edges.  But I nearly followed a pattern, which is a big deal for me, I rarely have that kind of patience.

Hand Quilting

Hand Quilting

I’m so excited about triangles now!  Seriously, I have triangles on the mind now and can’t wait to do them again.  Maybe a a star layout?

Bold Ikea Print Back (I'm totally addicted to bold Ikea print backs right now)

Quilt Back

I used a bold Ikea print for the back.  I’m totally addicted to these right now.  So many things to love about Ikea fabric for backs:  Fun designs.  Good prices.  Wide width=no piecing needed for baby quilt backs.  Just wish they would carry more quilting weight fabrics.

HS Hexagon Label 1

A gift from Chapel Hill Mennonite Fellowship

This is off in the mail to Chapel Hill Mennonite to welcome their newest baby!

19 responses to “BQF- Baby Hexies

  1. Pingback: BQF- Megan’s Wedding Quilt: Full Journey | Fallingforpieces' Blog

  2. This is fabulous! Love it!

  3. What a wonderful quilt, love the way the hexagons dance across the front, well done! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment on my Happy Go Lucky baby quilt :)

  4. Oh, I LOVE hexagons, and this quilt is super fab. Love it! :)

  5. Gorgeous – I love your use of value inside the hexes!

  6. I adore these colors and the design is perfect! I have yet to try hand quilting…its on my list!

  7. What a great way to turn triangles into mega hexies! It’s a super cool baby quilt.

  8. Super cute! Love the hexies and the backing fabric – just perfect for a baby quilt

  9. Love the colors you selected. I love the pattern too. What a great baby quilt!

  10. This is a lovely quilt. Great work with the hexagons. Love the backing, too!

  11. Holy hexagons, Batman! Great quilt. I love the colors on the front combined with the bright print on the back. Fabulous job!

  12. What a fabulous quilt! I love the simple colour pallet of the hexies, and the contrasting bright and colourful backing! The baby who receives this will be a happy baby indeed! Thanks for the great comment you left on my blog about my Neon Bounce quilt, the neon fabrics I used in my quilt are Riley Blake Neon Basics.

  13. This is a gorgeous quilt and I love your backing fabric too! Thank you for your lovely comment on my entry :)

  14. A lovely quilt. Hexagons are a favourite. Thanks for stopping by my blog too. I tried to reply but couldn’t

  15. Triangles are so versatile, so I can well understand you want to make more quilts using them. It is addictive! :-)
    Beautiful quilt, love the backing too.

  16. Oh, what a great way to piece hexagons. I am tempted to give them a try, too! And honestly I am too impatient for handpiecing :) Love the colours and the design. A lovely quilt for a boy!!!

  17. Love the pattern, love the colours, it’s a great quilt.

Leave a Reply

