Modern Hand Quilting

A few weeks ago I found a question posed, can hand quilting be “modern”? I am almost exclusively a hand quilter and I certainly consider myself modern so I went on a little flickr tour to see the state of modern hand quilting.  Here’s what I found:

This quilt from Ann-Marie, is a take from Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts, a favorite inspirational book of mine.  This is such a wonderful project to start hand quilting on because you don’t need to plan out a design, you let the fabric be your guide.   You can find more of Ann-Marie’s work in her etsy shop here.

Rebecca at Merry Made Quilts used another non-pattern option for hand quilting this stacked coins quilt with fun free style quilting.

Stacy from Peppermint Pinwheels had made another great example of patternless quilting.  I just love the look of her wonky hand drawn stars!  You can check out more of her wonderful quilts in her etsy shop.

Jessica at Ayenforcraft and her mother also quilted with circles, but clean geometric circles that look great too.  Her quilt has a wonderful story to it, I love a family tradition of quilting, being taught by my own grandmother. Check out the story here.

One of the things I love most about the modern take on hand quilting using cotton perle is how much more COLOR there is in the quilting itself.  Jenn from Jenn of All Trades has a great example of the use of color in this zig zag quilt.

Finally, you can’t really discuss modern hand quilting, at least in my opinion, without Victoria from The Silly BooDilly, who uses hand quilting to accent her very distinctive style of piecing.

In my own hand quilting I like to mix traditional fine hand quilting with more modern and bright colorful cotton perle quilting.  My recent Lila quilt is a good example of that blend.

So there you have it.  I’m going to go ahead and call it and declare modern hand quilting alive and well.  Never taken the hand quilting plunge?  Hopefully you’re inspired to give it a try!

Jill

6 responses to “Modern Hand Quilting

  1. Love them!! Tried my hand at hand quilting and had to revert back to machining for now. It’s a skill I’d like to pick up someday.

  2. beautiful examples of hand quilting! thanks so much for featuring my quilt!

  3. Hand quilting is undoubtedly modern! Personally, I love the hand-quilting on the Material Obsession blog (and books!). Thanks for including my little quilt – it’s a favorite of mine!

  4. I know you wrote this article awhile ago, but I just happened upon it. If you do a lot of hand quilting, we’d love to have you join our hand quilting blog writers at celebratehandquilting.blogspot.com . Come on by and give it a look!

  5. What a great post…I was so happy to come upon it in my blogland travels.

Leave a Reply

