One Small Star

Last week I had an email conversation with one of the expecting mothers at our church (the third this year, with two more coming up!) about how her quilt was going.  I told her I was started, which was true, but only so far as I had a single test block done that I had decided I wasn’t actually going to use…

I checked on her due date while we were talking, thinking I had a month or two yet, but, no, May 16th.  So I went to the drawing board.  I knew I wanted rainbow theme and wonky stars.  First I drew out a design of over 2,000 postage stamps.   Then I simplified it to around 1,200.  Then I got realistic and changed it again.

So, as of Saturday I had that one test block.  Now I’ve got 11 of 20 blocks done and 4 in progress.  Not quite ready to show off the whole thing, but thought I’d share my favorite block so far.

It’s totally crazy and that’s what I love about it.  Honestly, I love this one so much I’m tempted to do a huge star medallion like it.  This one is tiny though.  The whole star is 5″ and after trimming and seams will finish up about 4.25″.

I’m hoping to get this star and the other 3 green stars bordered out in their log cabins today and then I’ll just have the blue blocks to go! I think May 16th is actually realistic.  Hopefully, anyway 😉

Jill

2 responses to “One Small Star

  1. Beautiful blocks! White and red are always so good and I love also the green one!

  2. Great post thanks for sharing. You have a great layout here. Quilting is something I really enjoy doing. It passes the time and is very relaxing.

Leave a Reply

