Giveaway Day

Thanks for stopping by FFP, but this give away has closed. 

We just wrapped up the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, one of my favorite events of the quilt blogosphere and now we’re already here at another favorite, Giveaway Day, organized by the fabulous folks over at Sew, Mama, Sew.  I’m doing two separate giveaways this time around, so make sure you keep reading.  Also, please note, as much as I love international readers, due to the bulk of these prizes, I could only open these giveaways to the USA readers.

String Quilters Delight

If you follow my blog, you’ve probably seen a whole lotta stings lately, like this

and this

and this

You get the idea, I love string quilting.  There is a time and place for technical, precise piece work, but there is a also a lot of time and space in my stressed out life for the freedom of improv strings!  Maybe you need some free spirited string quilting in your life?

The Prize:  4+ yards Kona Cotton Solids and all of the strings that I can fit into this medium flat rate shipping box.  These are some pretty top notch strings, lots of Kaffee Fassett, Amy Butler, and Anna Maria Horner, just to name a few.  Most are width of fabric, though there are shorter lengths too and they are all 1-4″ wide. 

To Enter: Guess how many strings will fit in this medium size flat rate box.  Your guess is as good as mine, I’m not done ironing them and stuffing them in there.  Closest guess without going over will win.  In case of a tie I will draw between closest guesses for the winner.

Charity Sewing Giveaway

I’ve been very blessed with more fabric for charity quilting than I could probably use in ten years, though I swear that I’m trying.  I’d like to pass some of the stash along so it gets put to good use a bit sooner!

First Prize: A large flat rate box stuffed as full as I can get it with fabrics for charity quilting/sewing, including some seriously huge cuts of fabric (think like ten yard cuts) so you have easy backings if you’re doing quilting.  And there just might be some nice pieces of designer fabric tucked in, my little thank you for your good work 😉

Second Prize: A medium flat rate box of quilting fabric for charity sewing.  And yes, surprises for you as well. 

To Enter: Tell me what charity you sew for.  It can be the name of an organization or a group of people (i.e. the homeless, cancer patients, etc.)  Please make the charity name/group the first word of your comment, say anything you want afterward.  Winner will be selected alphabetically (Word 5, Page 100 of the book I’m currently reading).  Again, in case of a tie, I will draw names for a tie-breaker.

General Giveaway Details: Open until May 25, 2011 11:59 EST.  You are free to enter both giveaways, but please do so in separate comments.  Giveaways open to USA residents only (APO addresses included).  You must have an email address associated with your comment to win, if it is not in your profile, please put it in the comment as follows: name(at)domain(dot)com.  Entries with no email address in the profile or comment will be disqualified.  Please be watching your email on the May 26 and reply with a shipping address by May 27.  If I don’t get an address for you, an alternate winner will be chosen. 

If you haven’t already, head over to the list of giveaways here:


Good luck everyone– Jill

219 responses to “Giveaway Day

  1. My guess is 87 strings.

  2. Wounded Warriors

  3. I’m going to guess 240, provided the strings are ironed and rolled and the solids aren’t in there, too. Cool idea!

  4. I’d guess 120 strings. That’s a wild guess – I’ve never actually made a string quilt, but I was just admiring some lately, so maybe this would inspire me to start one!

  5. I would guess 115 strings!

  6. Holt’s Children’s Services in South Korea. We’ll be traveling soon to bring home our baby and I’d like to bring some quilts for donation.

  7. 532 strings 🙂 I also quilt for my family and friends, though not so much a charity as a labor of love!

  8. I’d guess 99. Thanks for the giveaway.

  9. I would guess about 273 strings, if the solids are in there too.

  10. i quess 300 strings

  11. I would guess 187.

  12. natalie christensen

    I will guess 432!

  13. I have no idea but I would guess 224. You’re ironing them though… Man, I am going to be up all night guessing in my head!

  14. 100

    G’Day! I’m here for the Sew, Mama, Sew Giveaway Day! Please visit me, too:
    http://www.homemakerhoney.com/2011/05/sew-mama-sew-may-giveaway-day-ends-may.html

    Deborah
    Homemaker Honey
    @Homemaker_Honey
    homemakerhoney.com
    homemakerhoney @gmail .com

  15. 142 strips! I sew for the local hospital for the newborn units too.

  16. hmmm… going to guess 75, is that too low? I have no idea. :/

  17. Erin Marie

    Um, I’ll guess 87. Are you going to share YOUR guess?

    • I’ll share what I thought would fit when it’s over. Since I’ve already got the box half full I don’t want to share now and give later readers an advantage.

  18. 148.Great giveaway!

  19. My guess would be alot! Alright, I’ll pick a number..uhm…233??

  20. I’m going to guess 257 strings. What a fun giveaway! My quilt guild just did a tutorial on string quilting and I would LOVE to make a few baby quilts for our yearly donation to the local NICU.

  21. Little Dresses for Africa

  22. 175 strips!! Great giveaway, I LOVE string quilting.

  23. Kristin Orth

    I’m going to guess 101 strings, with the solids in there too! Thanks for a chance to win!

  24. I’m guessing 75 strings will fit in that box – if you hadn’t included a picture of the box with some strings next to it, I would have had no idea whatsoever.

  25. I’d say 385 strings would fit!

  26. I’m guessing 121 strips. *fingers crossed*

  27. Hmm… 633 strings?

    Thank you for the chance to win 🙂
    zabecc(at)hotmail(dot)com

  28. 376. Thanks for the giveaway!

  29. Kristin Orth

    Quilts for kids – I have wanted to make some for this organization, if I win this box, I will!

  30. you’re seriously going to iron them before you stuff them in? sweetmercifulcrap you are amazing. 432.

    • Yeah, I’m half way through ironing, but if I do this again I think I may just stuff them in box…but I have a few days to finish up 🙂 Thanks for entering.

  31. My my you are ironing them first!!! won’t we be spoiled!!!! 🙂 It will be amazing how much you can stuff into that box…I’ll say 182, but I’m sure you can get more in there…you’ll just get tired of ironing and will stop I think lol.

  32. Foster Children of Waseca County. Our guild has made a quilt for each of the kids in foster care so that they have something that is their own.

  33. I would guess you could get 177 string in the box!

  34. I’m guessing 222…fingers crossed!

  35. 104 strings. I win. Give it to me?

  36. Humanitarian services: our church has a humanitarian services that they collect quilts and school bags for. The school bags are so easy! I lik eto make them to use up my stash at times.

  37. Stephanie Granite

    My guess for the box of string quilt clippings is 163!

  38. 260 strings?

  39. My guess is about 751 strings – that box looks quite big.

    Love to put these leftover strings to good use and your quilts look lovely
    thanks for the chance

  40. Here is my guess: 375 strings. I have no clue whether or not I am right!

  41. I’ve never work with strings, but I’m going to say 649. Just cause. I have NO IDEA.

    skooksplayground[at]gmail[dot]com

  42. World of Charity Stitchers, a yahoo group of Counted Cross Stitchers, they send me their squares and I turn them into lap robes for nursing homes, quilts for Ronald McDonald House, and a abused women and children’s shelter… we also send quilts to ill children and cancer patients.. I am currently working on my 25 th quilt, and they have sent me theme squares for three more… they also make tote bags, and other small items. the group is rather small and I provided the quilt supplies for the quilts I make.

  43. My guess is 90 strings. I don’t sew for charity, but I like to give fabric to others who do via freecycle. I’ve done the same with yarn.

    limor477 at aol dot com

  44. Deborah in Atlanta

    I’m guessing 257 strings for the first giveaway.

  45. Deborah in Atlanta

    I sew charity quilts for Hands2Help and could always use your fabrics for those quilts. Thanks for your generosity in the giveaway.

  46. Hmmm….I’m guessing 502. Okay,not that high…90?100?
    And unfortunately I do not have the time to charity sew 😦 Well, that and I have no idea where to even begin in our town!

    bunnygrrl_62793(at)hotmail(dot)com

  47. Depends on how hard you squish 🙂 hehe! Those medium boxes are big :)!! I will guess 560– but I squish a lot in a box 🙂

  48. I’m feeling lucky about 226! Thanks for the great giveaway! I have been wanting to try a string quilt myself. I have enough precision on real life!

  49. 288 strings!

  50. Wrapped In Hope (Margaret’s Hope Chest). I enjoy making quilts for little ones ❤

  51. 424-my birthday, is my guess. And I liked your comment about the cookies–sometimes it’s easier to just buy ’em! My son can cook and I can bake so we make a great team!

  52. 302? just a guess. thanks

  53. I will guess 284 just because I have no clue but I like the number. I’ve not done any string quilting but like the sounds of stress free…need some of that in my life on occasion. Thanks for the chance to win your awesome giveaway.
    jmniffer at comcast dot net

  54. Hmm…this is really tough…I will guess 130. Thanks!

  55. 290 is my guess.

  56. Red Cross is where my guild makes quilts for

  57. I’ll guess 190 strings. Thanks for the chance to win!

  58. i am going to guess 56

    asdrexler at gmail dot com

  59. 477 strings. Thanks for the giveaway!

  60. orphans in Cambodia (church ministry). Thanks for the giveaway!

  61. 284! I’m sure I’m way off, but that’s my guess. 🙂

  62. My guess for the strings box:

    221

    bsyb100 at gmail dot com

  63. Homeless

    My church quilts weekly for the homeless shelter here. Would love to have some fabric to use there!

    bsyb100 at gmail dot com

  64. I guess 682 strings! I sew apparel but have never quilted, and I’d like to start, but it really scares me!

  65. Mennonite Central Committee collects pieced comforters to send around the world as well as sewing kits, health kits, school kits and AIDS care kits all in drawstring bags.

    • MCC is such a great organization. I quilted for them with a church once. And I’m planning on doing a quilt for the Virginia Conference fundraiser for them this fall. Nice to meet another mennonite in the blogosphere.

  66. What exactly do you mean by “string”?? I’ll go out on a limb and say 43.

  67. I’m guessing 150 🙂 Thanks!

  68. I’m going to guess 347 strings.

  69. I’m going to guess 222. 🙂

  70. I guess 193 strings. Hope I’m close!!

  71. Your giveaways are difficult! Hmmm, here goes – 302? Thanks!

  72. I love the string quilts you’ve made. I think I may have to give this a try. It looks less stressful than most types of quilting, plus it appeals to my love of linear things. I am guessing 97 strings. Fingers crossed!

  73. I going to go big–632 strings!

  74. Wild guess of 234 strings.

  75. Local Battered women and children shelters – I’m with a local guild so we provide where it’s needed. We’re about to do pillowcases for cancer patients (ConKerr Cancer).

  76. I am going to guess 172 strings. How fun! jinglesells at gmail dot com

  77. I’m going to guess 457, I do love to make string quilts. Thanks.

  78. Margaret’s Hope Chest and Quilts for Kids.

  79. Christie S.

    I’m guessing 465 strings will fit in that box.

  80. 146. I love to string quilt, I love puting it together and then cutting it into other shapes. What fun. Thanks
    bc(underscore)hats(at)hotmail(dot)com

  81. 800 strings. (I have absolutely no idea). 🙂

  82. LDS church Humanitarian Services, local care and share, women’s crisis center, hospital. I love to quilt and then give it away. My kids can only use so many quilts after all.
    bc(underscore)hats(at)hotmail(dot)com

  83. Wounded Warriors

  84. I guess 126. Thanks for the chance!

  85. Maybe 3o3 strings?

    RP from BBC {at} gmail {dot} com

    haven’t been doing much charity sewing lately.

  86. I guess 265 strings!

  87. Quilts for Kids is supported by several of us at the Cincinnati Modern Quilt Guild. One member delivers the kits to us from a quilt shop in Goshen and the rest of us stitch them together. Then the quilt shop sandwiches and quilts them and a small group binds them and they are delivered to Cincinnati Children’s Medical Center. They are always looking for fabric donations.

  88. Sew Mama Sew: I think there will be 187 strings in the box!

  89. Charity sewing: I craft for Craft Hope! Such a great organization! Thanks a lot!

  90. TheQuiltandNeedle.com I am a member of this forum. We have three charity organizations that we make quilts for. There are threads on the forum, you are welcome to come check us out and look around. We have been making charity quilts for about 4 yrs. Both adult and children.

    Thank you for such a generous prize in your giveaway.

  91. I am guessing 123 strips.

  92. Amber Murray

    my guess is 376

  93. Amber Murray

    LDS church humanitarian services.

  94. Crunched some numbers, and I guess 201. Betting I’m wrong though :).

  95. territhegirl

    My guess is 205 strings. Thanks for the chance to win them.

    TLBRATT at Yahoo dot com

  96. 85 strings

  97. I’m going to guess 113 strings.

  98. I’ll guess 267 strings! (I have to wipe up the keyboard, since I’m drooling over those Kona solids!)

  99. I’ll guess 124 strings! Fun giveaway–looking forward to the real answer!

  100. Quilts for Kids. I make quilts for children in my town that are in the hospital to cuddle up in. Hospital sheets aren’t too comfortable. So a nice, soft quilt is always appreciated.
    thanks for the chance to win
    jacy468 at aim dot com

  101. I’m guessing 450 strings!
    jacy468 at aim dot com

  102. 327 strings? beats me! LOL

  103. Hello,
    I have begun to save strings. I made some string blocks and started looking at quilts and have fallen in love with them. I have no idea how many strings may fit in that box. I will guess 397.

  104. Alexander’s Disease, Hugs, Quilts for Kids, Quilts of Valor, Special Olympics and a local group to make money so they can send care packages to our troops. I like making charity quilts!

  105. My guess for the string giveaway is 54 🙂 Thank you for a fun giveaway. Also thank you for using wordpress. Blogger is dead in the water 🙂

  106. I’m going to guess 168. I ope you pack those things in there tightly.

  107. I am terrible at estimating but I think about 73 strings will fit in a box. And I must say your way of ramdomly choosing a winner is totally cool!

  108. I haven’t a clue but will guess 127.

  109. 52 woudl be my guess

    thanks for the giveaway

    radiyas(at)gmail(dot)com

  110. asha is what i knit for

    thanks for the giveaway

    radiyas(at)gmail(dot)com

  111. Just throwing 127 out there

  112. Hands to Help
    I am currently making quilts for this effort. We are giving them to GreenFairy Quilts ministry; they take them each year to Romania. Most are distributed to orphans in the city they visit. (They also gift them with bookbags and school supplies.) On the Green Fairy Quilt blog, you can see videos, donate money, or find out where to send quilts.
    I would so love to win the box for charity quilting, because it is difficult for me to find enough fabric for backings. I live in a rural area and don’t drive much. So for me to put together a quilt for charity, is like making two – one for the top and one for the backing! Thanks for the chance to win!

  113. I’ll guess 91 strings.

  114. Charity giveaway: My guild makes quilts for children in our local homeless shelter, and for children at Children’s Hospital in Seattle. These are children with long term, sometimes terminal illnesses who spend A LOT of time in the hospital. We are always looking for donated fabric. Thanks for the chance to win some!

  115. I’m gonna go with 173 strings.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  116. I’m probably way off, but my guess is 172!

  117. How fun!! I am going to guess about 95. I have know idea. LOL!!

  118. I make quiltf for Quilts for Kids. I have made two and I am making two more know. I have made many blocks for things for blogs. Thank you for a chance to win.

  119. I’m guessing 76 strings will fit in the box. Thanks!

  120. I have been wanting to try string quilting and this prize would be just the motivation! My guess is 133.

  121. I like to sew for Crisis Pregnancy Center. I think they do a wonderful job. and if something comes up like what happened (ing) in the mid-west. I would love to help with that too!!

  122. Thanks for a chance to win! I guess 177

  123. Thank you for the great giveaway.
    atchisonsteph at gmail dot com
    I live most of the time in Canada, but also have a residence in the states, so I hope you can include me in the giveaway.
    My guess is 173.

  124. I think you can stuff close to 20 yards in one of those boxes. So, i dunno, 12 per yard times 20 yards, let’s say 360.

    I sew quilts for South East Baltimore Early Head Start. These are babies and toddlers, age 0-3, who live well below the poverty level.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  125. Ha! My math was off. I meant 240! Time to go to bed!

  126. My guess is 175 strings. Also, our quilt guild, Lake & Mountain Quilt Guild, Seneca, SC makes charity quilts throughout the year. Should I be the lucky winner, the fabrics go to the quilt guild for members to use to make the charity quilts. (We share!) Thanks so much!

  127. lasirenaknits

    200 Thanks for the giveaway!
    pa7oma(at)yahoo(dot)com(dot)mx

  128. 205 strings will fit in that box! Fun giveaway – thanks for the chance.

  129. LOCAL WOMEN’S SHELTER – you are a very generous person- great giveaway – thanks.

  130. domestic diva

    I will guess 93 strings.

  131. Quilts for Kids. They are a great charity!

  132. I am guessing 243 strings.

  133. I sew for the Million Pillowcase Challenge.

  134. My guess is 213! Thanks!!

  135. I’ll guess 160 strings. Thanks for the contest!

  136. Sherry Book

    Homeless Shelter….our guild’s goal for 2011 is to make quilts for those who don’t have a place to call home. Sad but true; there shouldn’t be such a problem here in the U.S. but unfortunately it’s a fact. If I won this box, I would take it to my small quilting group to work on this project….thanks!

  137. Sherry Book

    I’d like to make a guess on those strings you’re stuffing into the box: how about 522?

  138. Rockbridge Pieceworkers Quilt Guild makes Comfort Quilts for local families and individuals in need, and I make at least one quilt a year to go to them. We have a need for more adult comfort quilts – everyone seems to want to make quilt for kids, so if I were to win, I’d want to make something that an adult would take comfort from.

  139. Strings – I’m guessing 78 and keeping my fingers crossed – I love string piecing!

  140. Quilts of Valor.

    And I guess ….145 strings.

    Great prizes, thanks for the chance to win!

  141. i’m going to guess 165. but i have no idea…lol!

  142. I am going to guess 210. Though I really have no clue

  143. I am going to say 187 strings! Thanks for a chance to win!!

  144. I sew for Wounded Warriors… It’s lap quilts and or anything to brighten up their rooms! Thanks for the chance to win!

  145. i guess 50. ive never string quilted! you make it alluring…ive subscribed so you can allure me more !x

  146. 68 strings with the solids in there too. I’m probably way off, but hey… it’s worth a shot. Thanks for the giveaway.

  147. Alzheimer’s quilts. I work in an Alzheimer’s unit, so this is near and dear to me.

  148. I am guessing 322.

  149. NICU blankets is what I make for charity. This would really help.

  150. Liz Fenwick

    Elderly Shut ins
    I work as a in home caretaker and lately my client and I ( She’s 72 and has back and hip problems, and we have a TON of fun together) like to work on crochet and sewing projects for her church that get handed out to elderly shut ins in our area. We just started a few months ago, but so far we have finished 6 lap quilts and one full size quilt, and we just love dropping them off to people. One lady baked us cupcakes 😀

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  151. Liz Fenwick

    I’m going to say 137 strips will fit into that box.

    That 4+ yards of kona cotton looks rather “space hoggy”

    Ooooooo I hope I win :D:D:D:D

  152. 374 strings.

  153. It’s like the Price is Right. 290 strings.

  154. 608 (since my daughter’s birthday is June 8)…I have NO clue, but would love to win!

  155. What a fun giveaway. I’ll guess 210, but I really have absolutely no clue.

  156. I’ll say 233 strings! Thanks for the chance!

  157. I have made quilts for Quilts for Kids before, and was just pulling some fabrics this week to make some more! I also participate regularly in the 1,000,000 Pillowcase Challenge.

  158. My guess is 79 strings!

  159. I have made quilts for project linus and also for my local homeless shelter as well as the local PICU. Love the chance to win your prize! =)

    Ly

    lyannab(at)gmail(dot)com

  160. I am not sure how many will fit in the box but I am going to guess 300. I hope I’m close! =)

    Ly

    lyannab(at)gmail(dot)com

    PS — thanks again for the chance to win

  161. For the stings: I guess 333 will fit! Fun giveaway!

  162. I guess 103 strings. Thanks for the giveaway!

  163. Laura Beech

    I guess 175 strings.

  164. I’m going to guess 105 🙂

  165. no good at guessng games…never what i imagine the answer to be…ill say 412. thanks!

  166. deborah b.

    277!!!!

    thanks for the giveaway.

  167. The string quilting bundle would be amazing. I guess you could easily fit 215 into a box. =) Thanks again!

  168. I sew quilts for Quilts for Kids…so if you have some kid fabric, it’d be a great charity to sew for! =)

  169. Eek! I’m gonna guess 150.

  170. LOVE string quilts too I have one waiting to be finished too!

    Lets see….how many strings, I think if you can SHOVE it very much and cram it full….I think you can get about 100 to 120 😀

  171. dearmrsreese

    My guess is 174 strings

  172. How about 184!

    liz(at)mommysaidsew (dot )com

  173. Wendy D. P.

    My guess is 222 🙂 I’d love to make a string quilt!

  174. Candace Henderson

    I am going to guess 377 strings… I know those boxes are big and strings are not… hope I winbut I think it is a long shot! Thanks for the great chance!

  175. I am guessing 468. Those boxes hold a lot.

  176. Quilts for kids. A charity that makes quilts for kids with cancer.

  177. Wow – so generous! Thanks for the chance! (And nice to see someone else in the Triangle Region!) I’m going to guess…152.

  178. I am going to guess 75 strings. I really have no idea! 🙂

  179. I am going to guess 173, mostly because that has my favorite number in it. I have absolutely no idea! Thanks for the chance to win. Hope I’m a good guesser!

  180. 102! Why not. I’ve always wanted to try this technique.

  181. Lumbee tribe of North Carolina. I don’t use a specific organization but I make large lap quilts for Elders and contact a social worker in the Fall, then deliver the quilts with my family. My husband and my children are Lumbee and we have many elders who could use some extra warmth come winter. I’d love to have more supplies to be able to help more people. How thoughtful of you!

  182. I’m going to guess 205. Thanks for the giveaway!

  183. I’ll guess 52 when the solids are in there too. Thanks for the chance to win!!

  184. 169?

  185. Thanks for the giveaway! My guess is 247 🙂

  186. I would guess 386!

  187. My guess is 85 strings–kind of low looking at the other guesses!
    stephkucera (at) hotmail (dot) com

  188. Essential Pregnancy Services through my church. My church collects new and gently used baby items every January to donate to EPS. I think every baby deserves something handmade, so I try to make items (blankets, bibs, etc) throughout the year to donate in January.
    stephkucera (at) hotmail (dot) com

  189. I’m thinking 100. So curious!

  190. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, San Tan Arizona Stake. We have lots of works in progress and additional fabric would be fantastic!

  191. I’ll say 104 strings with the solids included.

  192. 145 strings will fit int he box that you are mailing to me!!!!

  193. I sew prayer quilts for my church, QOV’s and heartstrings quilt project

  194. NICU babies- I donate to local NICU’s for the preemie babies- little shirts for them to wear.

  195. ok # of strings I would say…………… 292 I actually have no idea but what the heck. Your prize idea is great!

  196. I have no clue, but I’ll guess 74 – a nice number, anyway! Thanks for the opportunity – I’m dying to make a string quilt!

  197. I love the idea of string quilts but have yet to try one! Why you’d iron before stuffing is beyond me, but suit yourself! I’ll say 86.

  198. I have sewed a batch of pillowcases for ConKerr Cancer, participated in a couple of Craft Hope’s projects, and I want to contribute soon to Project Linus. My son has a Project Linus blanket from time he spent in the NICU and I’m delighted to have learned how to give back.

  199. 184 strings

  200. Riley Childrens Hospital

  201. 135 strings? Great giveaway. Thank you.

  202. I guess I’ll go with 73.

  203. Im guessing 240 strings.

    lindsay dot forgette at gmail dot com

  204. I vote 215. Am I close?

    Thanks for the chance!

  205. 109 I do not quilt for charity, but I have done things for the DAR a few times. like valentines for the troops with local schools. I love to give away my sewing too!

  206. My palms are sweating. I need to win this one! I’m working on a spiderweb quilt, and as a new quilter- I have a string deficit. I recently received a box of medium sized fabric. It was STUFFED with 15 yards of fabric. Minus the 4 yards of solids, I’m saying that there would be room for 11 yards of strings. Now- here is the tough part, the varying of the width. I’m going for a mean of 2 inches. So 198. If it isn’t 198, you should make it 198 just so I can win.

    I don’t quilt for charity- yet. I’m just working on my fabric stash.