You are known and loved #2 and 3

I’m on a serious text on quilt trend right now- not just text prints, although I do love them, but also improv piecing letters into the quilt itself.  I used the core values from my church on a quilt for my best friend’s baby earlier this year and knew it would have to be repeated.

Baby Shapes Back on Fence 1

You are Known and Loved #1

Working in the welfare office can be a pretty frustrating and draining place– the kind of place that can use a of message of hope.  I was happy to hang this quilt up in my office as a reminder that I, my clients, supervisors, even the politicians are known and loved by God.  No matter how frustrating any of us may be sometimes.

100_7691

You are Known and Loved #2

Sometimes, as the daughter of a blind father, it can be a little sad that my father can’t fully experience my quilts and for a long time I’ve wanted to make a Braille piece for him.  The White Rainbow by Shruti Dandekar at Houston Quilt Market was a kick to actually make it happen.  Her quilt was beautiful, but not something a visually impaired person could actually read, so I went a very different way for creating my Braille.  I decided to use a whole lot of french knots- one for each of the dots.

You are Known and Loved #3

You are Known and Loved #3

If I were to do this again, I would leave a little more space between the rows- he had a bit of trouble losing track of what row he was in the first time through.  Otherwise it turned out pretty well.

My Dad

My Dad (and Leila the cat)

Until next time!  Jill

 

3 responses to “You are known and loved #2 and 3

  1. Enjoyed your post. What a creative way to bring Braille into quilting. Keep it up!

  2. Jill! I am soooooo impressed! What a creative, loving gift you made your dad! Happy New Year!

  3. That is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

